The Only Mixtapes

BACHIR presents

D-Styles

Dave “D-Styles” Cuasito began his musical career in one of the great incubators of Dj style and skill: the San Francisco Bay Area of the 1980s. Like hundreds of other Filipino American teenagers, D-Styles started off with a mobile dj crew – San Jose’s Sound City – spinning at garage parties, school dances, weddings, etc. Those party-rockin’ roots would become a core part of his musicality but by the mid-80s, he also began to develop a love for scratching. Competitions and showcase events brought him in contact with other like-minded djs, including members of the turntablist squads he’d become most associated with: the Invisibl Skratch Piklz and Beat Junkies.

As renown as D-Styles has been as a member of the Piklz, it’s easy to overlook his prolificness as a solo artist. He’s produced tracks for Third Sight and lent out his scratch talents to everyone from The Grouch to Greyboy to Dj Kentaro. Bachir’s The Only Mixtape can’t include every song D-Styles has blessed but in both its breadth and depth, it pays proper homage to a Dj whose wax fondling now span three decades and counting.


Audio


News

(Français) D-Styles, le big bang scratch

13/10/2016 on Abcdr du Son

Sorry, this entry is only available in French. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language. Need, Atom, Shone, Pone et Hertz : cinq DJs français réalisent le...

The Only Mixtapes

BACHIR presents

D-Styles

Dave « D-Styles » Cuasito a commencé sa carrière musicale dans l’un des plus grands incubateurs de DJ’s : la baie de San Francisco durant les années 80. Comme des centaines d’autres adolescents américano-philippins, D-Styles a débuté dans une discomobile – San Jose Sound City – mixant pour des mariages, des soirées étudiantes, des anniversaires, etc. Ayant débuté comme DJ de soirée, la musicalité reste un atout essentiel de son style quand il commence à se passionner pour le scratch vers le milieu des années 80. De compétitions en showcases, il en vient à rencontrer d’autres DJ mus par la même vision, comme les membres des crews auxquels il se retrouve associé : les Invisibl Skratch Piklz et les Beat Junkies.

L’aura des Piklz est telle qu’on en viendrait parfois à oublier combien il est prolifique en tant qu’artiste solo. Il a produit pour Third Sight, posé ses scratches sur les projets de tout le monde, de The Grouch à Greyboy en passant par DJ Kentaro. The Only Mixtape par Bachir ne peut bien sûr pas couvrir tous les morceaux que D-Styles a béni, mais autant par sa diversité que par sa profondeur il rend un bel hommage à un caresseur de cire dont le travail s’étale sur trois décennies. Et ce n’est pas fini…

Oliver « O-Dub » Wang (Soul Sides)


Audio


News

D-Styles, le big bang scratch

13/10/2016 sur Abcdr du Son

Need, Atom, Shone, Pone et Hertz : cinq DJs français réalisent le portrait de D-Styles. Avec en creux, vingt ans d’évolution du turntablism. Un décryptage réalisé sous l’égide de l’un de nos DJs maison, Bachir, auteur de la récente rétrospective sonore D-Styles, the Only Mixtape....